State Library Victoria > La Trobe Journal

No 33 April 1984

[Back matter]


Notes on Contributors

Christine Downer is Picture Librarian in the La Trobe Library, State Library of Victoria.
Gillian Hoysted is Enquiries Librarian in the La Trobe Library, State Library of Victoria.
Dianne Reilly, who is the La Trobe Librarian, has recently completed a thesis on the life of Antoine Fauchery and is the co-author, with Jennifer Carew, of Sun pictures of Victoria.
Michael Watson is a librarian working in the Art, Music and Performing Arts Library of the State Library of Victoria.
inside back cover

The La Trobe Library

is a section of the State Library of Victoria and is Victoria's chief research centre and reference library for Australian history and literature. It is the State's principal repository for manuscript material, historical paintings, newspapers, etc., relating to the history of Australia and the Pacific and especially Victoria.

Friends of The La Trobe Library

is a society founded in 1966. Its aims are to publicise the Library, to attract financial support for it, to help to fill gaps in the book-collection, and to encourage the donation of manuscript and other material.
With regard to the last objective, the Friends seek to locate diaries, letters and other family or institutional papers which have survived, and to acquire such material for the Library or to arrange to have it photo-copied by negotiation with the owners.
The Friends’ Patrons are His Excellency, Rear-Admiral Sir Brian Murray, K.C.M.G., A.O., K.St.J. (Patron-in-chief); Hon. John Cain, Q.C., M.L.A.: Hon. Sir Rupert Hamer, K.C.M.G., E.D.; Hon. Sir Henry Bolte, G.C.M.G.; Professor R. M. Crawford; Mrs. Margaret Carnegie; and Mrs. E. K. Borrow.
The Friend's office bearers are: President, Dr. Lurline Stuart; Vice-President, Professor A. G. L. Shaw; Hon. Treasurer, S. R. C. Wood, D.F.C.; Hon. Secretary, John Arnold; Librarian, Miss Dianne Reilly (La Trobe Librarian).
The Committee of the Friends comprises: Marion Amies; Mrs. Everard Baillieu; Mimi Colligan; John Holroyd; Tony Marshall; Marjorie Morgan; Nigel Sinnott; and Dr. Martin Sullivan. The State Librarian, Mr. W. M. Horton, attends by invitation.
New Friends will be welcomed, especially if they are prepared to be active. The annual subscription is $15 (which includes the Journal). The Friends’ address is State Library of Victoria, Swanston Street, Melbourne, 3000.
back cover