State Library Victoria > La Trobe Journal

No 44 Spring 1989

SETTLERS: George Ross Reid's Long Letter

George Ross Reid, a printer by trade, emigrated from England to Victoria in 1853. He had promised his multitudinous family and friends that he would send them a “long letter” describing his experiences in Melbourne. He did so — by pasting together many sheets of paper in a scroll about 10 feet long. The complete letter, of about 5,500 words, was presented to the Library by Reid's descendants in 1987. Three brief extracts, describing Melbourne's inhabitants, their religious practices and their livelihoods, are printed here.
…The Streets are miserably lighted with oil lamps, so dull that you cant see the posts on which they hang sometimes) and they are about a gunshot from each other, so that on dark nights it is dangerous to walk or rather slide along. You must remember that I am speaking of winter time; the men wear every and any clothing they think fit, those that like them wear boots half up their thighs looking like half made Lifeguard men, but few wear hats, the majority being tipped with Jenny linds, Billycocks, Wideawakes &c. or in fact any thing that fancy dictates, I go at present in a cap and jacket that Uncle Thomas gave me, for
which I thank him, however I must have a Billycock shortly. The women when dressed carry on most alarmingly, anything that money can purchase, they have. It is not difficult to get a Wife here, but the trouble is to Keep her, when got. What with diggers running away with them and they with diggers it is no easy matter I assure you. Now I will quote the case of Cramer (you will recollect the bird concerning that accordion business, he was not authorised to ask for the money) Now you must know that he brought a Wife out with him, but no sooner fairly ashore, than off she goes. I might mention more cases, but not now…